BOOKING ACCOMODATION – A JOURNEY OF DISCOVERY


It is strange being on the “other side” booking accomodation. As an owner of a self-catering accomodation operation I sincerely hope that my prospective guests do not find it as difficult to book accomodation via the internet as I am.

We have the following criterea when booking into an establishment.

1. The establishment must be of the same grading as mine – 3 Star.
2. Over low season we would charge R500.00 per night – self-catering for our family, I would like to get the same rate for us on this trip.
2. I would like there to be no hidden costs.

Agullus Backpackers was an absolute breeze to book into via the net. Phoning the establishment was a little more dodgy

ring-ring
hallo
is that Agullus backpackers?
yes
I would like to aquire about accomodation
yes
Do you have availability for a family of four on the night of 29 June 2009
Im sure we do
How much will it be?
Ahhhhh, I dont really know I think it is about R300 maybe R400 or maybe R500
Well which one is it?
Um I’m not really sure I don’t really deal with bookings
Thank you
Cheers

WHYONEARTHDIDYOUANSWERTHETELEPHONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Anyway, via the internet the booking was a dream, we have a family room, within our budget and our first deposit is paid – will keep you updated.

For our second night on the road we would have liked to have stopped at Darling going towards the West Coast.

There is not much listed under self-catering at established Accomodation sites i.e. Safarinow and those that were were a little out of our range.

Send enquiry to Darling Tourism and a very efficient lady faxed me a list of options. However many Darling establishments to not take 1 night bookings or if they do a surcharge is charged.

We will be skipping Darling.

Now to Langebaan. Club Mykonos is our first bet but they must have the most unnavagable website I have ever come accross. You cannot check rates or veiw rooms at all.

On the general sites look out for hidden costs i.e. Rate for unit – R650.00 per night PLUS servicing after at a rate of R150.00 – (wish I could do this with my buisiness – my clients would CRACK!!!!!).

I am now going to try Safarinow and their destination Billboard options.

Right, I have made some enquiries through Safari now and the approx response time is 4 hours.

On to Alexander bay – no listings at Safari Now and one listing for Port Nolloth – guest comment looks a bit dodgy ie. “we only stayed one night, shower did not work and we had to dust cobwebs – had to chase large spider out of bath” – no thank you.

Alexander Bay sites are not very user friendly, I actually think that Alexander Bay is closed – have tried four numbers on the site and no one is answering. I am not going to give up on Alexander Bay – we HAVE to go there it is one of our mandatory stop points – maybe they will open expecially for us.

First response received from Apartments and Houses : Langebaan – unfortunately they have a minimum of a 2 night stay policy as well.

Will carry on trying tomorrow – at this rate we sleep in the car on the West Coast.

Leave a Reply

